Checking on your Google files from time to time now more important than ever
Google is no longer storing files indefinitely. If you don’t check in on your files from time to time, Google will delete them. Google is tidying up digital waste matter.
This is often a result of accounts that are no longer in use or forgotten. We do not visit forgotten files for several reasons. Putting files on the back burner or stored away until a later date is more common than we are aware. We often forget that we have put files away in a safe.
If one or more services have been inactive for twenty-four months, Google could delete the products or content. This is where there has been no movement.
Why Google Files Are Similar to Safety Deposit Boxes
We store valuable items and information in physical safety deposit boxes. We often leave these for months or years to access only when needed. We sometimes do the same with our Google files.
Google Introduces New Rules for Its Users Across the Board
New rules are being introduced for Google users, whether they are active or inactive. These rules will apply to users that have over-extended their storage limit. Google is introducing photos that will align better across the industry.
What Accounts Will the New Google Rules Affect?
The new Google rules apply to everything from Gmail to Drive and all other consumer account types. It further applies to Google Docs, Google Sheets, Drawings, and Jamboard files.
Google Has Given Consumers Fair Warning Regarding the New Rules
Google has no intention of implementing these rules by deleting files and other information without warning consumers. With fair warning, consumers will have enough time until the 1st of June 2021 to tidy up their information.
Forewarned is forearmed. Start by tidying those redundant files now! Stop the procrastination and get the job done; the clock has started ticking.
Where Can I Find Out More About Google’s New Rules?
To find out more about the new rules that Google is putting into place, simply visit the Google Support Page.
What Consumers Should Do to Avoid Their Information Being Deleted
Visit your Gmail, Google photos, Google Drive and all the Google creation apps. This includes accessing Google Docs, Sheets, Drawings, Slides, Forms, Jamboard, and Sites through an authentic Google App. It is important that you are signed in and connected to the internet.
Consumers Will Be Warned in Advance by Google
Google claims that it will warn its consumers in good time before acting. Google will notify you through email and other means of notification before deleting anything. Google will give you at least three months’ warning before your two-year deadline. The Google Feature called Inactive Account Manager deletes consumers’ account content after a set time period.
No Need to Sweat the Small Stuff. Being Proactive is Key.
Keep all your files and other documents safe from Google’s eagle eye. Visit your Gmail accounts to keep your information safe. Google has made it abundantly clear that you are no longer welcome to store your information forever.
Visit your files from time to time to avoid any unpleasant surprises. Keep your Gmail accounts alive and well by updating, vising, deleting, and carrying out other small actions regularly.


